Roland Schimmelpfennig

Das schwarze Wasser
Auftragsarbeit für das Nationaltheater Mannheim im Rahmen der Frankfurter Positionen
3 D, 3 H
UA: 10.01.2015 · Nationaltheater Mannheim · Directed by: Burkhard C. Kosminski
He runs into her on the street in the evening after work, it’s already dark and it’s raining. She starts crying suddenly, and he asks her if he can help her; after all, they know each other from way back – even if they haven’t had anything to do with each other for a long time.
Friends from way back – and back then, nothing mattered: background, money, school, parents. Religion. Skin colour. They got drunk together at night at the bus stop. They had the same tattoos. And then: studying classical languages. Studying history. Getting married, having kids.
Or looking for work without finding it. Today one of them is a head mistress, the other sells cars, and one sits at the checkout in a supermarket. The city is pretty big, but sometimes you do cross paths. It’s been a long time.
You look good.
Do you think so? I don’t.
It’s raining, and he takes the crying woman to her apartment, it’s still the old apartment, the apartment that her parents lived in. A corridor painted green. Poor people.
And later, his wife asks him: Is everything ok? Yes, he tells her, but from this day on, nothing is ok anymore, nothing.
Translated into: Swedish

Roland Schimmelpfennig

Das schwarze Wasser
Auftragsarbeit für das Nationaltheater Mannheim im Rahmen der Frankfurter Positionen
3 D, 3 H
UA: 10.01.2015 · Nationaltheater Mannheim · Regie: Burkhard C. Kosminski
Er trifft sie zufällig auf der Straße, abends nach der Arbeit, es ist schon dunkel und es regnet. Sie fängt plötzlich an zu weinen, und er fragt sie, ob er ihr helfen kann, immerhin kennen sie sich doch von früher – auch wenn sie schon lange nichts mehr miteinander zu tun haben.
Freunde von früher – und früher war alles egal, die Herkunft, das Geld, die Schule, die Eltern. Religion. Hautfarbe. Zusammen besoffen nachts an der Bushaltestelle. Die gleichen Tätowierungen. Und dann – Alte Sprachen studieren. Geschichte studieren. Heiraten, Kinderkriegen.
Oder Arbeit suchen und nicht finden. Heute ist eine Schuldirektorin, und der andere verkauft Autos, und eine sitzt an der Kasse im Supermarkt. Die Stadt ist groß genug, aber manchmal läuft man sich doch über den Weg. Lange her.
Du siehst gut aus.
Findest Du? Ich finde nicht.
Es regnet, und er bringt die weinende Frau zu ihrer Wohnung, es ist noch die alte Wohnung, in der Wohnung haben schon ihre Eltern gewohnt. Ein grün gestrichener Korridor. Arme Leute.
Und später fragt ihn seine Ehefrau: Alles in Ordnung? Ja, sagt er, aber von diesem Tag ist nichts mehr in Ordnung, nichts.
(Roland Schimmelpfennig)
Übersetzt in: Swedish